- Louisiana Legislature
- United States of America
As Of right now,The maximum amount that a Person Has to pay for one Lapse in insurance is $850 to the DMV. This means that if you get That 1 lapse of insurance on your vehicle You can drive around as long as you want without insurance as long as you don't get quiet when only pay a maximum of $850 to the DMV. Louisiana is a state that has the largest amount paid for car insurance. For some, It is very expensive to keep liability-let alone full coverage on vehicles.
With the rules away they are, this means that a person who doesn't really care about keeping and turns on their car are being pulled over and havingWith the rules the way they are, this means that a person who doesn't really care about keeping and turns on their car are being pulled over and having no insurance can drive around as long as you want they want And only when they're in the license expires or they need something done And only when they're in the license expires or they need something done at the DMV will they have to pay this maximum of 850.On the opposite end of the situation of person who is just struggling to pay their insurance and has multiple lapses Will be forced to pay that $850 multiple times.
In my opinion this person with the multiple lapses is a person who actually cares about having insurance and protecting their property and the other people's property around them.Unfortunately this is the person making pay over the course of a 4-6 year license Thousands of dollars in order to be able to drive Are registered a vehicle.This is not to say that 1 send is better than the other it. It is to say that somehow the fee system needs to be fair to all of those in the Louisiana who made struggle to pay insurance on a vehicle.
Our law makers no that insurance is very expensive in Louisiana. They know that it's hard to keep it. I believe that is why they put fees on it so that the DMV can rake inOur law makers no that insurance is very expensive in Louisiana. They know that it's hard to keep it. I believe that is why they put fees on it so that the DMV can rake and more more money.How does this law Help us Louisiana citizens?Answer is that it does not help Us.Instead it is away for Louisiana to cashInstead it is away for Louisiana to cash and on the misfortune of good people trying to do the best that they can.
I don't want anyone reading this to with the wrong idea. I don't want anyone reading this to with the wrong idea. I believe that the system should have this because you should have insurance.I just don't think that is proportional to people who actually struggle tape Mary insurance and the fees that they charge all way too high.If over the course of time have you have an a valid driver's license. This time. Could be 4 years or 6 years.It is you should not Have to be on a payment plan in order to pay off these charge to you like our government that's supposed to help the people.If we can't pay insurance sometimes how are we supposed to cough up the money to pay fees for not having insurance, where does that make sense?
So another thing that The state was start the payment plan option.I believe this was to make us feel like We have been saved our bailed out. This is not saving our because we should not be in this predicament.How do you expect your people to pay a payment plan every month if they can barely afford to keep insurance on their car month to month.This system is making it harder to pay your insurance and then when it laps it's there to collect more fees for the lapses.
Once you don't qualify for payment plan anymore even if your amount of he's is Ridiculously high,There is no driver's license. Your drivers License is suspended until you paid the keys.Someone with a DUI or DWI Can actually get a hardship license. While someone with flags on their license.Flags are created by unfortunate circumstances. Driving under the influence as created from a choice. How is it possible that someone that chose to put everyone's life in danger including their own can get a hardship license?At The same time someone who couldn't afford insurance can not have a hardship license if no payment plan is available.
The Louisiana government is praying Insurance on vehicles.To add insult injury, they are bullying us into paying it or not having a license at all.
should either not exist, But I asked for something more attainable at the moment.
I am asking you for people to sign this petition so that the legislature of Louisiana sees that they should Lower these fees for everyone who owes them and allow more excess to help for those with them because the system is not fair to all. They should take a hard look at the system adjust it moving forward.
We, the undersigned,Call on the Louisiana legislature to review the laws that surround the DMV flag fees. We ask that they be eliminate or drastically lowered by at least one-half of what they are. We asked these changes to affect those who have these fees already and those who will incur them in the future.We also ask that, for those who have large amounts and who are not able to be on a payment plan Allowed to get a hardship license that will allow them to travel to and from work in school.
The Lower DMV Insurance Lapse Fees petition to Louisiana Legislature was written by Qui Freeman and is in the category Law Reform at GoPetition.