#Local Government
Voters of Chapel Hill
United States of America

Please sign the petition below by Wednesday at 5pm October 21, 2009 for your name to be included in a pre-election announcement ad to run in the Sunday edition of The Chapel Hill News.

On June 9, 2008, Chapel Hill town council member Matt Czajkowski uncovered a significant action item buried in the town council’s Consent Agenda giving lifetime health care benefits to any mayor or council member who had served two terms. Any items on the Consent Agenda are generally not discussed or debated by the council nor are they open to any public comment.

Despite Czajkowski’s protests, the other eight members of the council - including current candidates Laurin Easthom, Ed Harrison and Mark Kleinschmidt - all voted for lifetime health care.

Only after public outrage that resulted in a petition with well over 600 signatures did the council rescind its vote.

In order to attain more integrity, transparency, financial expertise and fiscal responsibility in our local government, we are asking the citizens of Chapel Hill to vote Matt Czajkowski for Mayor and new candidates Jon DeHart, Gene Pease, Matt Pohlman for Town Council.

(This statement, along with the names of those who sign it, will appear in an ad in the October 25, 2009 edition of the Sunday Chapel Hill News.)

The Transparency and fiscal responsibility in our local government: Chapel Hill Town Elections petition to Voters of Chapel Hill was written by Chapel Hill Citizens and is in the category Local Government at GoPetition.

Petition Tags

chapel hill